... відкритий, безкоштовний архів рефератів, курсових, дипломних робіт

ГоловнаІноземна мова - Англійська, Німецька та інші → One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (film) - Реферат

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (film) - Реферат

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (film)

Directed by Miloš Forman

Produced by Michael Douglas

Written by Ken Kesey

Starring Jack NicholsonLouise FletcherBrad DourifWilliam RedfieldWill SampsonScatman Crothers

Music by Jack Nitzsche

Cinematography Haskell Wexler

Editing by Sheldon KahnLynzee Klingman

Distributed by United Artists

Release date 19 November 1975

Running time 133 min.

Language English

Budget $4.4 million

IMDb profile

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest is a 1975 film directed by Miloš Forman. The film is an adaptation of the novel One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest by Ken Kesey. The movie was the first to win all five major Academy Awards since It Happened One Night in 1934. This accomplishment was not repeated until 1991, with The Silence of the Lambs.


  • 1 Plot

  • 2 Reception

  • 3 Cast

  • 4 Trivia

  • 5 External links


Spoiler warning: Plot and/or ending details follow.

Randle Patrick McMurphy, a serial petty criminal who has been sentenced to a fairly short prison term, decides to have himself declared insane so he'll be transferred to a mental institution, where he expects to serve the rest of his time in (comparative) comfort and luxury.

McMurphy's ward in the mental institution is run by an unyielding tyrant, Nurse Ratched, who has cowed the patients—who are mostly there by choice—into dejected institutionalised submission.

McMurphy becomes ensnared in a number of power-games with Nurse Ratched for the hearts and minds of the inmates. All the time, however, the question is in the mind as to just how sane any of the players in this actually are. Eventually McMurphy is lobotomized after he explodes into a violent rage when one of Nurse Ratched's psychological power games results in the death of a patient.

During the night he is smothered by his friend, the Chief, who can't bear to see McMurphy so brainless and dull, seeing the murder as an act of mercy and that he's setting his friend free. The Chief, managing an act McMurphy earlier failed to do, lifts up a heavy marble hydrotherapy fountain and, hurling it through one of the barred windows, escapes.


The film was widely acclaimed and won Academy Awards for Best Actor for Jack Nicholson (who played McMurphy), Best Actress for Louise Fletcher (who played Nurse Ratched), Best Direction for Miloš Forman, as well as Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay. It ranked number 20 on the American Film Institute's list of 100 greatest American films, Nurse Ratched was ranked number 5 on the Institute's list of 50 Greatest Villains, and the film consistently ranks in the top 12 on the Internet Movie Database.

Kesey himself did not hide his dislike of the film, particularly the casting of Nicholson as McMurphy. The characters were based on actual people from the hospital, however in real life the Native American did talk. (Although another source says that Kesey, under the influence of drugs, saw a hallucination of a Native American sweeping the floor.) Kesey also loathed the fact the film was not told through the eyes of Chief Bromden, as the book was, for he saw this as fundamental to the story. For these reasons Kesey claimed to have never seen the film.

The film has been deemed "culturally significant" by the Library of Congress and selected for preservation in the United States National Film Registry.




Jack Nicholson

Randle Patrick McMurphy

Louise Fletcher

Nurse Mildred Ratched

William Redfield

Dale Harding

Dean R. Brooks

Dr. John Spivey

Scatman Crothers

Orderly Turkle

Danny DeVito


William Duell

Jim Sefelt

Brad Dourif

Billy Bibbit

Christopher Lloyd


Will Sampson

Chief Bromden

Vincent Schiavelli


Nathan George

Attendant Washington

Mwako Cumbuka

Attendant Warren

Josip Elic


Lan Fendors

Nurse Itsu

Ken Kenny

Beans Garfield

Alonzo Brown


Michael Berryman


Peter Brocco

Colonel Matterson

Sydney Lassick

Charlie Cheswick


Louise Fletcher as Nurse Ratched

  • The role of domineering Nurse Ratched was turned down by five actresses - Anne Bancroft, Colleen Dewhurst, Geraldine Page, Ellen Burstyn, and Angela Lansbury - until Louise Fletcher accepted casting (in her debut film) only a week before filming began.

  • Actor James Caan was originally offered the lead role of McMurphy, and Marlon Brando and Gene Hackman were considered as well.

  • Louise Fletcher was nominated (and ultimately won) the Academy Award for Best Actress. One of the other nominees was Ann-Margret, who was nominated for her role in Tommy. Both of these films feature Jack Nicholson.

  • It was ranked #17 at AFI's 100 Years... 100 Cheers.

  • Kirk Douglas originated the role of McMurphy in a stage production, and then bought the film rights, hoping to play McMurphy on film. He passed the production rights to his son, Michael Douglas, who decided his father was too old for the role. Kirk was in fact angry at his son for a time afterwards because of this.

  • One of only three films to sweep the 5 major Academy Awards: Best Picture, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Director, and Best Screenplay (the other two films being It Happened One Night and The Silence of the Lambs.)

  • The song Welcome Home (Sanitarium) by heavy metal band Metallica was inspired by this movie.

  • Danny Devito first played Martini in the 1971 stage revival of the show.

  • The movie was filmed at Oregon State Hospital in Salem, Oregon.

External links

Wikiquote has a collection of quotations related to:

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (film)

  • One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest at the Internet Movie Database

  • One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest review by Roger Ebert

  • One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest review by Roger Ebert as "Great Movie"

  • One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest at Filmsite.org

  • Analysis of Nurse Ratched's Communication

  • Discussion of characters and themes in "One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest".

Academy Award for Best Picture: Winners (1961-1980)[ Hide ]

1961: West Side Story | 1962: Lawrence of Arabia | 1963: Tom Jones | 1964: My Fair Lady | 1965: The Sound of Music | 1966: A Man for All Seasons | 1967: In the Heat of the Night | 1968: Oliver! | 1969: Midnight Cowboy | 1970: Patton | 1971: The French Connection | 1972: The Godfather | 1973: The Sting | 1974: The Godfather Part II | 1975: One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest | 1976: Rocky | 1977: Annie Hall | 1978: The Deer Hunter | 1979: Kramer vs. Kramer | 1980: Ordinary People

Complete List | Winners (1927–1940) | Winners (1941–1960) | Winners (1981–2000) | Winners (2001– )