... відкритий, безкоштовний архів рефератів, курсових, дипломних робіт

ГоловнаІноземна мова - Англійська, Німецька та інші → The World Heritage List - Реферат

The World Heritage List - Реферат

Domain of Drottningholm
1993 Birka and Hovgеrden
1993 Engelsberg Ironworks
1994 Rock Carvings of Tanum
1994 Skogskyrkogеrden
1995 Hanseatic Town of Visby
1996 The Church Village of Gammelstad, Luleе
1996 The Laponian Area
1983 Convent of St. Gall
1983 Benedictine Convent of St. John at Mьstair
1983 Old City of Berne
1979 Ancient City of Damascus
1980 Site of Palmyra
1980 Ancient City of Bosra
1988 Ancient City of Aleppo
1991 Thungyai-Huai Kha Khaeng Wildlife Sanctuaries
1991 Historic Town of Sukhothai and associated historic
1991 Historic City of Ayutthaya and associated historic
1992 Ban Chiang Archaeological Site
1979 Amphitheater of El Djem
1979 Site of Carthage
1979 Medina of Tunis
1980 Ichkeul National Park
1985 Punic Town of Kerkuane and its Necropolis
1988 Medina of Sousse
1988 Kairouan
1985 Historic Areas of Istanbul
1985 Gцreme National Park and the Rock Sites of
1985 Great Mosque and Hospital of Divrigi
1986 Hattusha
1987 Nemrut Dag
1988 Xanthos-Letoon
1994 City of Safranbolu
1994 Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
1994 Rwenzori Mountains National Park
1990 Kiev: St Sophia Cathedral and related monastic
buildings, and Lavra of Kiev-Pechersk
1986 The Giant's Causeway and Causeway Coast
1986 Durham Castle and Cathedral
1986 Ironbridge Gorge
1986 Studley Royal Park, including the Ruins of
Fountains Abbey
1986 Stonehenge, Avebury and associated sites
1986 The Castles and Town Walls of King Edward in
1986 St. Kilda
1987 Blenheim Palace
1987 City of Bath
1987 Hadrian's Wall
1987 Palace of Westminster, Abbey of Westminster, and
St. Margaret's Church
1988 Henderson Island
1988 The Tower of London
1988 Canterbury Cathedral, St. Augustine's Abbey, and
St. Martin's Church
1995 Old and New Towns of Edinburgh
1995 Gough Island Wildlife Reserve
1979 Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1981 Ruins of Kilwa Kisiwani and Ruins of Songo Mnara
1981 Serengeti National Park
1982 Selous Game Reserve
1987 Kilimanjaro National Park
1978 Mesa Verde National Park
1978 Yellowstone National Park
1979 Everglades National Park
1979 Grand Canyon National Park
1979 Independence Hall
1980 Redwood National Park
1981 Mammoth Cave National Park
1981 Olympic National Park
1982 Cahokia Mounds State Historic Site
1983 Great Smokey Mountains National Park
1983 San Juan National Historic Site and La Fortaleza
1984 The Statue of Liberty
1984 Yosemite National Park
1987 Monticello, and the University of Virginia,
1987 Chaco Culture National Historic Park
1987 Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1992 Pueblo de Taos
1995 Carlsbad Caverns National Park
1995 Historic Quarter of the City of Colonia del
1990 Itchan Kala
1993 The Historic Centre of Bukhara
1993 Coro
1994 Canaima National Park
1993 Huй (Complex of Monuments)
1994 Ha Long Bay
1982 Old Walled City of Shibam
1988 Old City of Sana'a
1993 Historic Town of Zabid
1979 Natural and Culturo-Historic Region of Kotor
1979 Stari Ras and Sopocani Monastery
1980 Durmitor National Park
1988 Studenica Monastery
1979 Virunga National Park
1981 Kahuzi-Biega National Park
1980 Garamba National Park
1984 Salonga National Park
1996 Okapi Faunal Reserve
1989 Victoria Falls/Mosi-oa-Tunya
1984 Mana Pools National Park, Sapi and Chewore Safari
1988 Great Zimbabwe National Monument
1988 Khami Ruins National Monument
The World Heritage List was established under terms of The Convention Concerning the Protection of World Culture and Natural Heritage adopted in November, 1972 at the 17th General Conference of UNESCO.
The Convention states that a World Heritage Committee "will establish, keep up-to-date and publish" a World Heritage List of cultural and natural properties, submitted by the States and considered to be of outstanding universal value.
One of the main responsibilities of this Committee is to provide technical co-operation under the World Heritage Fund for the safeguarding of World Heritage Sites to States Parties whose resources are insufficient.
States Parties can request international assistance under the Fund for expert missions, training of specialized staff, and supply of equipment when appropriate; they can also apply for long-term loans and, in special cases, non-repayable grants. Requests must concern work necessary for the preservation of cultural or natural sites included in the World Heritage List or assistance to national or regional training centres.
Emergency assistance is also available under the Fund in the case of properties severely damaged by specific natural or man-made disasters or threatened with imminent destruction.
As of December 1996, 147 Member States had ratified the Convention, the United States being the first to do so. As of December 1996, the number of sites on the World Heritage List stood at 506. The Committee named 12 sites in 1978, 45 in 1979, 28 in 1980, 26 in 1981, 24 in 1982, 29 in 1983, 23 in 1984, 30 in 1985, 31 in 1986, 41 in 1987, 27 in 1988, 7 in 1989, 17 in 1990, 22 in 1991, 20 in 1992, 33 in 1993, 29 in 1994, 29 in 1995, and 37 in 1996.
* Small discrepancies in numbers may be due to different methods of numbering sites, and overlapping of sites into two countries.
Inquiries should be sent to :
UNESCO World Heritage Centre
7 Place de Fontenoy
75352 Paris 07 SP, France
Update: 20 February 1997
Источник: Internet.